Political Parties of Panem

As of the most recent events in the political scene of Panem, there are currently five major parties: the Liberty Party, the Conservative Party, the Labor Party, the Civic Party, and the Centre Party. All five parties are somewhat represented at different levels of government, and all have varying and sometimes matching viewpoints on key issues.

The Liberty Party:              Liberty Party

The Liberty Party is the current ruling political party in Panem. It controls the Presidency, the Vice Presidency, the House of Representatives in a national unity coalition with the Conservative and Centre Parties, the Senate, in a supermajority, ten governorships, seven lieutenant governorships, and a majority of district legislatures. The Liberty Party’s main flag-bearer is President Dale Wilson of District 4. The Liberty Party runs on a platform supporting an increase of national defense with use of force if absolutely required, financial solvency, anti-corruption measures, and limited government among other stances. They also favor lower taxes for everyone, not just the middle and lower classes. Key people involved besides President Wilson include President-elect Peeta Mellark, Vice President-elect Rebecca Tarson, Vice President Harold Cersisa, Secretary of State and former presidential nominee Celine Oswald, former Secretary of Defense and Governor of District 15 Gale Hawthorne,  Governor Rosalie Descoteaux of District 14, Governor Amy Oaksmith of District 8, former President and First Lady-designate Katniss Everdeen, and Secretary of Defense Jonathan Madison. The national ticket for the Liberty Party in the last election was Senator Peeta Mellark/Governor Rebecca Tarson. Both were elected by the widest margins in Panem’s electoral history.

The Centre Party: Centre Party

The Centre Party is the newest political party in Panem, controlling 36 members of the Panem House of Representatives, making them the second largest party in the House. In a shocking turn of events in the past midterms, the Centre Party emerged out of dismal polling to surge to a position of power in the Panem House. Due to the critical situation of needing a majority, the Centre Party formed a national unity coalition with the Liberty and Conservative Parties, allowing the five members of Centre to push their agenda. The Centre Party lives up to its name; the party itself lies center in the political spectrum of Panem politics. The Centre Party maintains the belief of serving its citizens directly and adjusts to their wishes. The main flag-bearer of the Centre Party is House Centre leader Daniel Hutton. The Centre Party did not field a presidential candidate this past election.


The Labor Party:           5359cef1c7955FGYbGHEUXv

The Labor Party is the third largest party of Panem, controlling two governorships, two lieutenant governorships, and two district legislatures as well as forming the second largest party of the opposition in the House and the largest opposition party in the Senate. The flag-bearer of the Labor Party is presidential nominee Felicia Ren of District 8. The Labor Party runs on a platform of pulling slightly back on national security in favor of a more socially liberal concept favoring domestic affairs. They are in support of increased taxation on the upper class and corporations as well as welfare of private citizens. Key figures in the Labor Party beside Governor Ren include former VP nominee Joan Kindred, former VP nominee Walter Delta, Senate Minority Leader Iris Canstrom, former Senator Ophelie Murray, and former Governor of District 1 Thomas Stemp. The national ticket for the Labor Party in the past election was Governor Felicia Ren/Secretary Joan Kindred.

The Civic Party:           5359cfa75f975TzL2XbW1i2

The Civic Party is the second-smallest party in Panem, controlling one governorship, one lieutenant governorship, and one district legislature while also comprising twelve members of the opposition in the national legislature. The main flag-bearer for the Civic Party is Attorney General, former Secretary of Intelligence, former President, Civic Party founder, and two-time Civic presidential nominee Cecelia Paylor. The Civic Party also runs on a platform mainly supporting domestic affairs over international affairs but supports isolationism and a major decrease of the military. Civic also is more concerned with the environment, supporting anti-pollution laws and clean alternatives to fossil fuels. Other key figures in the Civic Party include former Secretary of Global Development and current Secretary of Commerce Samuel Trenton, Governor of District 3 Bertram Spellings, Lieutenant Governor of District 3 Sarah Turner, and former Lieutenant Governor of District 11 Tanner Qualiski. The national ticket for the Civic Party in the past election is Attorney General Cecelia Paylor/Secretary of Commerce Samuel Trenton.

The Conservative Party:Conservative Party

The Conservative Party is the smallest political party in Panem. Throughout President Rick Canth’s term, the Conservative Party grew to be one of the strongest in Panem. However, following his scandal and impeachment, the Conservatives have lost their foothold in government at many levels. The party is represented by many mayors in cities throughout Panem’s districts, as well as having control of five representatives in the House of Representatives.The Conservatives lack a standard-bearer due to the impeachment of President Rick Canth and the expulsion of his brother, Representative Jackson Canth, from the House. The Conservative Party runs on a platform that is more comparable to the Liberty Party: one that supports national security, favors lower taxes, and limited government. However, they split in their support of interventionism when threatened, varying support for eco-friendly measures, and varying stances on social issues. Other key figures include Secretary of the Interior Delia Sutherland and former VP nominee and Secretary of the Treasury Kurtis Pierce. The national ticket for the Conservative Party in the last election was President Rick Canth/Representative Jackson Canth. Both were defeated soundly by Senator Peeta Mellark and Governor Rebecca Tarson, respectively.


The Independence Party:Independence Party

Though not technically considered a true political party, the Republic of Panem does require all independent candidates to register under a party. Therefore, when a candidate is listed as “Independent” on a ballot, they technically are listed under the Independence Party though they campaign on their own separate beliefs. Therefore, it is not possible to pinpoint a main standard-bearer for the Independence Party, nor is it possible to determine the party’s platform as it varies incredibly from candidate to candidate. However, there are several well-known independents, such as Secretary of International Trade and former VP Tyler Thompson (now belongs to the Liberty Party, however), former VP Plutarch Heavensbee (formerly a member of the Liberty Party), Secretary of the Interior Rick Canth (now belongs to the Conservative Party), Secretary of Intelligence and former President Cecelia Paylor (now belongs to the Civic Party), and independent Governor of District 8 Elizabeth Steinbeck. National independent tickets have included Governor Elizabeth Steinbeck/District Representative Pauline Crystal and businessman Robert F. Maxwell/Secretary Lynn Germaine. 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s