Q&A w/ First Gentleman Peeta Mellark

First Gentleman of Panem Peeta Mellark, husband of President Katniss Everdeen, appears at a campaign fundraiser in District 1. Mellark has been relatively silent as first spouse but has broken his silence in a PFP interview where he declares his candidacy for the Class I District 12 Senate seat.

First Gentleman of Panem Peeta Mellark, husband of President Katniss Everdeen, appears at a campaign fundraiser in District 1. Mellark has been relatively silent as first spouse but has broken his silence in a PFP interview where he declares his candidacy for the Class I District 12 Senate seat.

 

In a rare sitdown interview with the First Gentleman of Panem, Peeta Mellark talks war, his wife, future plans, and views on the next presidential election.

 

PFP: Mr. Mellark, thank you so much for granting us this interview. We understand that this isn’t a typical activity for you.

M: No, it isn’t, but that may change soon. We’ll talk about that in a second, though.

PFP: What do you think about being First Gentleman? Are you going to miss being the highest-ranking spouse in Panem?

M: *laughs* I do think I’ll miss parts of it, yes. It will be a relief to finally get true privacy after eight years of continuous attention and scrutiny. But, hey, I’ve loved it every step of the way. It’s great to promote causes as First Gentleman and that’s probably something I’ll want to continue after leaving.

PFP: What do you think about the Everdeen administration?

M: Well, my wife’s the head of it. *laughs* I won’t say too much regarding her except I’m proud of all that she’s accomplished as president in the last eight years. She’s incredible. As for the rest of the administration, it’s been the most transparent administration in Panem’s history, no doubt. They work well together. They work efficiently. There’s no worry of party lines, or polarizing disagreements. They were all wonderful picks.

PFP: Which brings us to a big topic: what do you think about this next presidential election?

M: Oh, it’s shaping up to potentially be a bigger and more important race than the one that brought Katniss into office, in my opinion. It’s the first without someone currently in office, making it a huge deal. It’s also important to note that the “opposition” parties, as I suppose they would be called, are just as capable of making themselves prime contenders for the presidency as the Liberty Party has shown themselves to be. As for the primaries, I won’t wade into that quite yet. Let me just say that the Vice President is very capable, and so is my friend Gale Hawthorne. From experience, I have met and discussed issues with Tyler Thompson while he was vice president and he’s a great candidate too. Amy Oaksmith is a terrific governor and has a great track record in District 7. All four of them are great, amazing candidates that could be a great president.

PFP: What are your views on World War IV?

M: Well, being a victor of the Hunger Games, I know the brutality. I’m a survivor of torture as well; I know what war can bring. I would normally advocate for a peaceful solution to this conflict, possibly through diplomacy, but this case is an obvious exception. There’s no possible way to diplomatically approach a nation who is hostile to neutral nations. It’s not a feasible option. We cannot afford to allow ourselves to be beaten over and over until it is too late- we must neutralize the threat to our nation, unfortunately, by force.

PFP: You mentioned earlier that you may be granting more interviews soon. Why exactly is that?

M: This is the part I’m particularly nervous about, but here it goes. I’m going to grant more interviews because I am officially running for the Panem Senate in District 12, specifically the Class I seat. Our senator is retiring, and as I’m leaving my position as First Gentleman, I need to do something. I want to help our nation and my district. There’s no doubt that our nation is strong, and there’s no doubt that District 12 is one of our finest Districts. I feel as senator I can make a greater impact than I ever could as First Gentleman.

PFP: Thank you, Mr. Mellark. It’s been a pleasure having you.

M: Absolutely!

Leave a Reply

