EDITORIAL: How a Queen will change it all

The coronation dress of Queen Sophia I of the Netherlands. Queen Sophia I was coronated after the abdication of her father, King Willem I.

The coronation dress of Queen Sophia I of the Netherlands. Queen Sophia I was coronated after the abdication of her father, King Willem I.

The future queen of the Netherlands has been raised knowing that she will eventually become the next ruler. She’s been trained. She’s participated in debate. And now, her time has come.

Not one person alive remembers the reign of Queen Beatrix, the most recent queen of the Netherlands. It was before Panem’s Great War, when the United States of America still existed. Beatrix was hailed as a great ruler, but abdicated out of precedent of the last two monarchs (Queens Wilhelmina and Juliana) in favor of her son, Willem-Alexander, who became the first king in a century.

Today, a new Queen will be coronated in pomp and circumstance akin to that of the former three queens. Much celebration has been held since the abdication of King Willem I after his many controversies. The heir, Sophia, Princess of Orange, was almost universally favored over him. In fact, many advisers to the king privately pushed for the monarch to step down or face a possibility of being deposed.

And so he did. And for the first time in a century, a new Queen will be inaugurated. It’s astonishing how the story almost parallels that of King Willem-Alexander, her ancestor (minus the controversy of the previous monarch in the case of Willem-Alexander.) I had the privilege of speaking with the new Queen after her coronation, a privilege not commonly bestowed.

I asked of her plans. She stated:

“I wish to change it all. The people of the Netherlands are restless for a reason, and I do contain the executive power to fix crises. I plan to return to a government that properly suits our people, a government similar to that of a century ago. There is a problem when a country’s government decides to go against the will of its people.”

Queen Sophia has, in the past, pointed to problems in the increasing authoritarian rule in the Netherlands. She especially criticized her father for using his executive powers to have the Netherlands join the IANO, stating that it was “abuse of executive privileges, and it’s hard to believe that my father would perform such a dreadful act.” King Willem, however, did not attempt to pull back, and as such, after her coronation, the new Queen has announced that the Netherlands would be withdrawing from the IANO effective immediately, stating:

I agree with many that my father did not use his executive powers appropriately, and forced the Netherlands to join the IANO by an abuse of power. However, I do know that my father believed that he was doing the right thing for the country at that time. As such, it is my turn to help my country. Due to the recent government crisis after our war with Panem, I have used my executive powers to withdraw the Netherlands from the International Anti-Nuclear Organization. We cannot afford to be a member of an organization willing to wage war against a country that had yet to do us harm. I feel that my decision is in the best interests of the Netherlands. God bless us, and God bless the Netherlands.

The monarch’s announcement signaled the first move in her plans. The withdrawal of the membership to the IANO is almost as audacious as her attacks on her father when the country was forced to join the IANO. It’s clear to me that the Queen will serve the Netherlands well and repair what Willem has destroyed over his many years of service.

Leave a Reply

