Congress goes to work with all nominees approved and departments created

The Congress went back to work this week, taking extensive action on President Everdeen’s second-term agenda along with her nominees.

The Senate started with the introduction of a bill titled the Departments Act. The bill’s text states:

The President of the Republic of Panem shall be allowed to create and dismantle departments at his or her discretion. A person appointed by the President to lead the departments in Panem’s government, however, shall be approved by a majority vote of the Senate.

This bill basically allows the President to create new departments when needed, but nominees for secretaries must be approved by the Senate. The approval of secretaries is hardly new, as it has been custom since the creation of the new Republic of Panem.

The Departments Act passed the Senate with bipartisan support, 20 to 8. It has since passed the House as well, with a vote of 150 to 6. The President signed it rapidly, as to speed up the process.

After that, the Senate took to work to approve the nominees of President Everdeen’s second-term Cabinet. All votes were exactly the same: 20 votes for the nominee, 8 against the nominee. This is due to People for Panem’s staunch opposition to President Everdeen’s administration.

The new Cabinet, in order of the Presidential Succession Act:

Secretary of State: Jonathan Madison (Liberty Party-District 4)

Secretary of Defense: Gale Hawthorne (Liberty Party-District 2)

Secretary of the Interior: Rick Canth (Labor Party-District 7)

Secretary of the Treasury: Harold Sercisa (Liberty Party-District 4)

Secretary of Intelligence: Cecelia Paylor (Civic Party-District 8)

Attorney General (head of the Department of Justice): Karina Erickson (Liberty Party-District 13)

Secretary of International Trade: Tyler Thompson (Independent-District 5)

Secretary of Global Development: Samuel Trenton (Civic Party-Capitol)

Secretary of Commerce: Cynthia Garth (Liberty Party-District 5)

Secretary of Energy: Walter Singleton (Liberty Party-District 12)

Secretary of Communications: Beetee Latier (Liberty Party-Capitol)

Secretary of Transportation: Joan Kindred (Labor Party-District 5)

Secretary of Agriculture: Polly Hector (Liberty Party-District 11)

Secretary of Homeland Security: Haymitch Abernathy (Liberty Party-District 12)

Presidential Chief of Staff: Rose Connell (Liberty Party-District 6) not in line of presidential succession

Press Secretary: Polaris Septrix (Independent-Capitol) not in line of presidential succession


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s