It’s been five years since Snow was executed and the country of Panem was formally recreated to resemble a Republic much like the one that stood on this ground centuries before us.  With all the political buzz around us, it seems that everyone has lost touch with our Mockingjay, Katniss Everdeen.  I sat down with her in her lovely District 12 home to discuss what the present and future contains for her.

C: So, Katniss, it’s been five years since you were released from prison and sent home.  Nearly six years since the 3rd Quarter Quell.  Did you ever think your life would be as peaceful as this after the strenuous, dramatic teen years you experienced?

K: I expected I’d die in the 3rd Quarter Quell.  When that didn’t happen, I just assumed that the war would kill me.  I never imagined I’d be living a semi-normal life, and surviving into my twenties.  Of course, things aren’t all that normal.  There are still the nightmares.  But things are as close as they’re ever going to be.  I’m thankful for that.

C: Nightmares of the games?

K: Of course.  And the wars.  When you watch your friends and colleagues die in front of you, it does something to you.  And losing Prim was hard.  But everyone’s experienced losses in this war.

C: None of those people died in vain.  Their spirits live on.  They stand as martyrs for the cause.

K: Right.

C: So you and Peeta ended up together.  We all hoped that you two would be reunited in the end.  Coming from someone who grew up watching your Games, the only thing that gave me comfort was knowing that you had each other.  It was so hard to even consider that one of you would die.

K: I’m thankful our relationship gave hope to the people of Panem, because, honestly, that’s what it did for me, too.  Without Peeta, I don’t know where I’d be.  I call him my dandelion of spring, because Peeta always brings new hope, fresh and insightful.  There’s always a hope for tomorrow with him.

C: You’re going to make me cry.

K: But the thing about Peeta is he knows how to help people.  I was the Mockingjay because I was aggressive.  But he leads people with his words, taking a stronghold on their emotions.  He’s just . . . good with people.  Just like Prim was.

C: Well, obviously you are too.  That’s why you were the symbol of hope and rebellion.

K: (laughs) I doubt it was because I’m good with people.  Probably more like because what Peeta and I did actually intimidated Snow.  The people of Panem saw it, and it was encouragement.

C: Speaking of people who bring hope to the people, how do you feel about Paylor’s achievements as President?

K: I’m hesitant to ever give someone the amount of power our President currently has.  It concerns me that we may be reverting back to what we once were.  Not because Paylor’s power-hungry, but instead because people are giving too much power to her.  There’s not enough democracy involved.  I fear we’re quickly descending back into the authoritarian regiment that Snow held with an iron fist.  The six-year terms set off my concerns.  It’s not unreasonable to try to achieve your goals in four years.  Our forefathers served four-year terms.  Why do we change things now?

C: Awfully bold words, Katniss.  But I know people will listen to you.  Considering this, do you think you’ll run for office during reelections next year?

K: Right now, I’m unsure.  I doubt anyone will know until the time rolls around.  Including me.

C: If you don’t run, can you at least promise that you’ll declare an allegiance so those who stand by you know who to vote for?

K: That I will.

Leave a Reply

